You’re walking in the crosswalk when an accident occurs that leaves you injured. Instead of stopping to see if you are hurt, the driver speeds away, leaving you there to deal with the police and paramedics all alone.
Mississippi has the highest number of uninsured drivers (29.4%), and the person who flees the scene of an accident may be one of them.
What to do if you’re a hit-and-run victim
Should you be involved in an accident where the other party leaves the scene, follow these steps:
- Assess yourself for injuries.
- Call 9-1-1 and ask them to send help.
- Ask any witnesses to stay and tell the police what they saw. It’s possible that one or more witnesses saw the license plate of the driver who fled.
- Allow the paramedics to treat you and transport you to the hospital, if necessary.
Ask one of the witnesses to take photographs at the accident site if you are unable to do so yourself. These could assist the police in locating the person who fled the scene.
The state of Mississippi requires that drivers remain at the scene of the accident, Those who flee the scene may face some serious penalties for causing a hit-and-run accident if they are located and convicted. These penalties include:
- Fines range from $100 – $5,000.
- Jail time range from 30 to 365 days.
Failing to stop at the scene of an accident in which the victim is seriously injured, disfigured or fatally injured is considered a felony that carries these penalties:
- Fines range between $1,000 to $10,000.
- Jail time ranges between five to 20 years.
The judge has the right to penalize the driver who fled with one or both of the above options. When it comes to covering your hospital bills and the cost of damages, consider seeking assistance with filing your claims.