A driver can have his or her license suspended for failing to follow road rules, for DUI convictions, for reckless driving and other traffic violations.
Driving under the influence (DUI) violations can result in a driver’s license suspension for 90 days. The driver may also be required to attend an alcohol safety education program. If the driver has additional DUI violations, his or her license can be suspended for up to five years.
Also, if the driver is over age 21, his or her driver’s license may be suspended if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above the legal limit of 0.08 percent. If the driver is younger than 21, his or her license can be suspended if their BAC is more than 0.02 percent.
If a driver fails to pay his or her traffic tickets, the Mississippi Department of Public Safety can suspend his or her driving privileges and in addition to the amount that is owed for the tickets, can assess the driver a late fee.
While the driver’s license is suspended, a first offender can request a hardship license to operate a vehicle for work, school or medical reasons. However, the driver cannot apply for the hardship license until at least 30 days after the suspension is effective.
For the driver to have his or her license reinstated, the driver must clear their Mississippi driving record, pay court fines, pay any applicable reinstatement fees and the Mississippi Department of Public Safety must receive a clearance confirmation from the court.
An experienced attorney can help drivers with license suspensions and reinstatements.